Your body must have vitamin D to promote bone growth and absorb calcium. While there is no “superior” vitamin and all vitamins from A to Zinc have their own special characteristics, but it is hard to deny the fact that vitamin D is extremely important. It helps regulate the immune and the neuromuscular systems and it also plays major roles in the life cycle of human cells.
The Institute of Medicine recommends that both children and adults under 70 years old, including pregnant and breastfeeding women, should get about 600 International Units or IU of vitamin D on a daily basis while those above 70 should aim for 800 IU daily.
Here is the list of foods that provide vitamin D:
- Shiitake Mushrooms.
Mushrooms come in many forms. And believe it or not, mushrooms are like humans because they have the capacity to produce vitamin D when exposed to ultraviolet light. But when it comes to mushroom foods that have vitamin D, shiitake mushroom is on top of the list. In fact, a half cup contains 20.30 IU or 5.08% of the daily value. Aside from the sunshine vitamin, shiitake mushroom is also an excellent source of copper, selenium and pantothenic acid and a good source of vitamin B2, niacin, choline and Zinc. Not bad.
2. Fortified Milk Alternatives.
Soy, almond, coconut and rice milks are often fortified with vegan vitamin D. And since the Food and Drug Administration has recently increased the amount of vitamin D that can be added to both dairy milk and milk alternatives, you can now get up to 205 IU of D in an 8-ounce glass of your favorite dairy substitute.
Not only is tofu packed with other nutrients such as calcium, zinc, protein, and omega 3 fatty acids, it is also a very important source of vitamin D. By including tofu in one’s diet, you can get almost 30% of the recommended daily consumption of vitamin D.
Vegans may be at greater risk for low vitamin D intake, but they can obtain vitamin D from regular exposure to sun and fortiﬁed foods. Using vitamin D supplements can also help up your D levels. It’s important to remember that if you are a plant-based eater that many supplements with vitamin D3 (cholecalciferol) are of animal origin (lanolin); vitamin D2 (ergocalciferol) is produced from yeast and is acceptable to vegans.
Share This Article